Schedule of Homebuyer Classes

By Invitation Only

FALL 2020

5 Week Classes - 1 1/2 hours each. Classes begin at 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Please do not be late. Doors will be locked at 6 pm.
No children are allowed; parents must make prior arrangements. All classes are required to close on your home and must be completed before your Home Dedication.

Homebuyer Classes - 1 1/2 Hours Each

WEEK 1

Tuesday, Sept. 8 - Introduction to Habitat and Homeownership
Thursday, Sept. 10 - Savings

WEEK 2

Tuesday, Sept. 15 - Budgeting 101
Thursday, Sept. 17 - Ways to Get out of Debt

WEEK 3

Tuesday, Sept. 22 - Insurance
Thursday, Sept. 24 - Q & A with Local Insurance Agents

WEEK 4

Tuesday, Sept. 29 - Investing

Thursday, Oct. 1 - Homeowners Mistakes to Avoid, Being a Good Neighbor, Maintaining your Property

WEEK 5

Tuesday, Oct. 6 - Legal Documents

MAINTENANCE CLASS

Location: At the Job Site
Date: Saturday, Oct. 3 or Oct. 10

The CLASSES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE, but the day and time remains the same.

MAKE UP CLASSES:

Spring Classes
January-March

Summer Classes
May-July

Fall Classes
September-November

Financial Counselor One-on-One Meetings (4 meetings will be set by homebuyer and counselor)

  • Meet ‘n Greet to review budget forms and discuss concerns homebuyers may have about the budgeting process.
  • Meet to discuss the homebuyer’s first cash flow budget and prepare an action plan to complete the second and third monthly budgets.
  • Meet to review the homebuyer’s second and third monthly budgets to determine if they need additional counseling.
  • Optional: Meet in two months to review monthly budget forms and discuss any new concerns the homebuyer may have about maintaining their budget.

Classes are required and must be completed before you can close on your home.

Search